New 14-match schedule available for Milwaukee rugby team for 2013-2014 season


The schedule for the 2013-2014 USA Rugby Division 1 fifteens season — in the newly formed Competitive Region structure — is attached below. 

For veterans of the sport, this schedule is the first resulting from the club restructure that has been in the works for 18 months or more and announced by USA Rugby in April

Meet the new 'Competitive Region' structure  

The most obvious change is that the schedule is now 14-matches — 10 in the Fall and 4 in the Spring to complete a full home and away series for each club — followed by a National playoff. Clearly, teams have a lot more travel in store compared to previous seasons. 

What may not be as obvious is how the restructure is laid out. As you can see in the image above (which is not current and should be considered a draft), the US is now split into the American and National Leagues. The states in the Midwest form National League Competitive Region 1 or NCR1. 

Additionally, the club restructure along with the competitive regions will be implemented for division 1, 2 and 3 sides.

A newly created division 4 will be implemented for local matches which will cater to teams unable to make the travel committemnt required for competitive region play. The premier Milwaukee rugby club — the Milwaukee Barbarians — have registered a Division 4 team in additon to their divison 1 side. The Division 4 schedule will be posted as it becomes available.

2013-2014 Division 1 Schedule - National League Competitive Region 1