Joe Grams leads annual awards with pair of wins

2016 Awardees - Milwaukee Barbarians

Today the winners of the annual Milwaukee Barbarians participation awards for the 2015-2016 were announced.

The field was lead by Joe Grams who won awards for Division 1 Forward of the Year and Rookie of the Year.

Justin Patterson won Division 1 Back of the Year for a second consecutive time, and Coach Joe Gardener took the top prize: Rugger of the Year.

In addition, two new awards were given out this year. Supporter of the Year recognizes the women in the Milwaukee Barbarians Athletic Club. Cathy Nirschl won the inaugural award for her work organizing events.

The other new award is Old Boy of the Year in celebration of our alumni. This award was given to Joe Schuster for all his efforts at our summer tournament and his help organizing the food and beverage at out home double-header this past autumn.

Congratulations to all of the awardees!

  • D1 Forward of the Year — Joe Grams
  • D1 Back of the Year — Justin Patterson
  • D1 Most Improved — Alex Mross
  • D3 Forward of the Year — Randy Fendryk
  • D3 Back of the Year — Steve Drobot
  • D3 Most Improved — Dave Gray
  • Rookie of the Year — Joe Grams
  • Rugger of the Year — Joe Gardener
  • Supporter of the Year — Cathy Nirschl
  • Old Boy of the Year — Joe Schuster