Barbarians 7s start 2017 season with perfect record in Appleton rugby tournament

The Milwaukee Barbarians kicked off their 2017 sevens rugby season in Appleton, WI at the Leinie’s 7s

Seeding Round

The day began well with a warm-up style match against a ‘pickup’ team with Bryce Counsellor racking up three tries in the first half. At the final whistle, the Barbarians had put together a clinical 48-0 victory. 

The perfect defense continued into the second match with Tom Fossell leading the offense and scoring twice against the Pigs (Oshkosh, WI). At the final whistle, the Barbarians claimed the victory 26-0.

The third and final match of pool play was the closest of the morning against a very determined side the Celtics (Green Bay, WI). Despite strong defense on both sides, Milwaukee outscored their opponents three tries to two, including a double from Kyle Cwikis. Final score: 21-17 to the Barbarians. 

Knock-out Rounds

With a 3-0 record, the 1st-seeded Barbarians matched up against the 4th-seeded Wolfpac (Fond du Lac, WI). With some fresh legs from the bench, the Milwaukee rugby team outscored their opponents six tries to one.

The 36-5 victory over the Wolfpac punched the Barbarians ticket to the final to meet the second-seeded Celtics for the second time of the day. 

Mike Albert lead the scoring in the championship with a pair of tries. Two more scores from Justin Patterson and Counsellor kept the Barbarians ahead of Green Bay who scored twice. 

The 28-14 scoreline gave the win to Milwaukee and capped a perfect 5-0-0 record for the day with Jeff Cebe taking top honors as man of the tourney.

On deck

This week the Barbarians prepare for the Lighthouse 7s in Fond du Lac. Practices are Tuesday and Thursday at 6PM at the Old Milwaukee Gun Club.

With multiple teams registered, roster positions are still available for new club members and students returning to the greater Milwaukee area to play summer rugby.

Sign-up then show up

Leinie's 7s Roster

  1. Alex Mross
  2. Anthony Sims
  3. Brian Klein
  4. Brian Strenk
  5. Jeff Cebe 
  6. Justin Patterson 
  7. Kyle Cwiklis 
  8. Mike Albert 
  9. Nick Vigder 
  10. Taylor Young 
  11. Todd Chini 
  12. Tom Fossell 
  13. Bryce Counsellor