Todd Chini voted 2018 Barbarian of the Year

In photo from left: Cutler, Chini, Bell, Sims, Dave Gray (no award), Ash, Roche, Egan, Ratzburg, and Ludwig. 

On Friday the Milwaukee Barbarians held their annual rugby awards ceremony and banquet.

Newly-elected club secretary Todd Chini at took home top honors as the 2018 Rugger of the Year. Todd is a dedicated club member who puts in a lot of hours both on and off the field.

The other awardees stand out from prior years in that all but one of them are first-time awardees such as Rookie of the Year Connor Bell and MAORI (35+) of the Year Wayne Cutler.  

Another unique feature of the ceremony is the inclusion of the Rugby 7s awards: this is the first time both programs celebrated their seasons and recognized their outstanding players at the same time. 

Congratulations to all of the awardees! 

Club Awards

  • Rugger of the Year — Todd Chini (second from left in photo)
  • Rookie of the Year — Conor Bell
  • MAORI (35+) of the Year — Wayne Cutler 

Rugby 15s Awards, Division 1

  • Forward of the Year — Kyle Cwiklis 
  • Back of the Year — Ty Ash
  • Most Improved — Anthony Sims 

Rugby 15s Awards, Division 3

  • Forward of the Year — Patrick Ratzburg
  • Back of the Year — Michael Egan
  • Most Improved — Brady Ludwig

Rugby 7s Awards

  • Most Valuable Player, Qualifier Team — Stuart Roche
  • Most Valuable Player, Competitive Team — Tom Fossell
  • Most Improved — Bryce Counsellor