2009 Member Achievement Awards.

On Saturday night, the Milwaukee Harlequins Rugby Football Club held their annual awards banquet to honor the achievements of the players and club members for the 2009 rugby season. The awards were presented by club Founder and President Joe Kloiber.

The following awardees were selected by their peers:

  • Most Valuable Forward – Div 1 : Jeff Hoffman
  • Most Valuable Back – Div 1: Phillipe Leka
  • Most Valuable Forward – Div 3: Eric Steinmann
  • Most Valuable Back – Div 3: Ben Nirschl
  • Rugby Rookie of the Year : Mike Reagles
  • Harlequin Rookie of the Year: Sean Beuche
  • Most Improved Player of the Year: Aaron Young
  • Rugger of the Year: Mike Loader

The Harlequin Rookie of the Year was awarded for the first time this year to recognize outstanding players that are new additions to the Harlequin Family but have had some rugby experience in the past. Rugby Rookie of the Year is awarded to an outstanding Harlequin who played rugby for the first time in the preceding year.

Vic Drover
Vic Drover

Vic has a long history in and around the sport of rugby both in Canada and the US. He has played for and started numerous clubs (Vandal's RFC, Strathcona Druids, Suffolk Bull Moose, West Side Harlequins, Milwaukee Barbarians, Hamilton Girls Rugby), and served many roles over the years at all administrative levels. Vic joined the Harlequins in 2007 and remained an active club member through the transition to the Barbarians. These days, he spends his rugby time playing tag rugby and touring with the Old Boys, keeping the club website updated, helping organize the Lakefront 7s, and fundraising.

Articles: 199